“The best WW2 book I’ve read to date”

Farewell-Leicester-Square1 - Copy

Lovely new message from reader, Phil Dumbelton:

“Hi Jon, I’ve just finished reading Farewell Leicester Square and what a great book it was – the best WW2 book I’ve read to date. Actually it is one of the best books I’ve read to date. I’m so pleased that I found it.

“I really enjoyed the plots around the resistance fighters and found the ending very moving indeed. Please can we have some more? Best wishes, Phil Dumbelton”

Reader feedback means so much to authors. Thanks, Phil! 

Classic paperbacks #4: Where Eagles Dare

Where Eagles Dare
        Where Eagles Dare

The novel version of Alistair MacLean’s Where Eagles Dare is not all that it seems.

It’s a classic thriller made into an explosion-filled, action-packed film.

Well, not quite.

In fact, the book started out as the film.

Producer Elliott Kastner approached MacLean directly and asked him for an original script.

MacLean wrote the script and then the book to coincide with the movie’s release.

Years later, Kastner remember the moment he first approached the author.

“I rang Alistair MacLean at his home in Surrey, and told him that I would really like to meet with him.  He refused; he didn’t wanna meet without my telling him more details.  So I told him:  I wanted him to consider writing an original story, directly for the screen.  There was a moment of silence, followed by ‘Hmm, nobody ever asked me that before…’

“ ‘So’, he said, ‘What is it you want?’  ‘I want a team of five or six guys on a mission in the Second World War, facing enormous obstacles.  I want a mystery.  I want a sweaty, exciting adventure movie.’  That’s all I told him, just that.”

And in the book and film that is exactly what we got!

Five Stars: “A great tale of WW 2 daring, intrigue and heroism”

Farewell Leicester Square
Farewell Leicester Square

2005. Terrorists target London in an attack which makes headlines around the world.

Elsewhere, a fishing boat makes a remarkable find: a World War II bomber, hundreds of miles from where records show it disappeared.

The two events combine when journalist Jon Kilkade takes a blood-curdling phone-call.

It describes a suicide mission to destroy London. Not in 2005, but during the chaotic final months of the Nazi Third Reich.

The action in this fast-paced novel switches from occupied Jersey to the lives of SOE and Resistance fighters in Belgium.

At its heart is a deadly circle of Nazi fanatics intent on creating a final blitz which would see the people of London wiped from the face of the earth.

A riveting thriller in the tradition of Jack Higgins and Alistair MacLean.

SOME OF THE 5***** REVIEWS ON AMAZON:
“A thoroughly enjoyable read. Full of intrigue and some shocks along the way. Historical wartime descriptions are incredibly accurate and deftly pull you into the story. It’s almost as if you’re there. Looking forward to the next one by Mr Kilkade.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of intrigue and heroism
“A great tale of WW 2 daring, intrigue and heroism told in a gripping way. Well researched and I’m sure based on detailed gleaned from true stories of the people who risked their lives to help other. Recommend.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb thriller
“The book starts in the modern day but soon goes back to WWII and sets up an interesting character who escapes Jersey before the island is occupied by the Nazis. I didn’t know where the story was going and it really zipped along once the main mission started. Lots of action and intrigue. Loved it and well worth a read.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
“I loved this novel for so many reasons – believeable characters, excellent research and an exciting plotline. I was caught in the storytellers trap from beginning to end.
If you like history and true to life characters and a smashing plot, this is the book for you.”

Cover image for new edition of ‘Farewell Leicester Square’

‘Farewell Leicester Square’

Very excited to receive the cover image for the new e-edition of ‘Farewell Leicester Square’.

The Kindle version of the book is on sale at a special price at the moment so please check it out!

There have been so many great reviews so far. Thanks to all the readers who have contacted me.

“A superb thriller… I didn’t know where the story was going and it really zipped along… Lots of action and intrigue. Loved it.”

“Captivating from beginning to end. A thoroughly enjoyable read. Full of intrigue and some shocks along the way. Historical wartime descriptions are incredibly accurate and deftly pull you into the story. It’s almost as if you’re there. Looking forward to the next one by Mr Kilkade.”

“Excellent thriller…  Fast plot and lots of action and builds to a very exciting climax over London. I loved it.”

“A must read. Thoroughly enjoyable read. Captivates the readers imagination.”

Thanks!

Don’t forget to let me know what you think of the new cover.

Nazi-Occupied Jersey

While researching ‘Farewell Leicester Square’ Jon Kilkade spent a great deal of time exploring the amazing concrete legacy of the German occupation of the Channel Islands.

This photograph, taken by Jon, shows one of Jersey’s three direction and range-finding towers for artillery. La Corbière lighthouse is in the background.

Nearby there is a 10.5cm casemate bunker containing its original coastal defence gun – a French WWI gun which the Germans captured during the Blitzkrieg in 1940.

 

New book: Farewell Leicester Square

July 2005. London commuters are caught up in a terrifying nightmare as terrorists target the transport network.
As the horror unfolds journalist Jon Kilkade takes a blood-curdling phone-call.
The suicide bombers have come for the city – just as the Luftwaffe did more than half a century before.
But across more than six decades of history lies a secret.
In the closing stages of World War Two the city came within moments of complete destruction, as a close circle of Nazi fanatics planned a final blitz which would see the people of London wiped from the face of the earth.
A fast-paced novel in the tradition of Jack Higgins, Alistair MacLean and Alexander Fullerton.

But it now on Kindle! Only $3.12

'A classic WW2 thriller in the spirit of Jack Higgins and Alistair Maclean'
'A classic WW2 thriller in the spirit of Jack Higgins and Alistair Maclean'

Hi

Hi

Welcome to the website and blog of thriller writer Jon Kilkade.

Jon will use the site to update readers on new releases.

He also welcomes chat and correspondence with readers. Please contact him here or through his publisher, Magic Rat Books, magic.rat.books@googlemail.com

Hope you enjoy Jon’s books!