Classic paperbacks#2: The Bridge on the River Kwai

The Bridge on the River Kwai
The Bridge on the River Kwai

The Bridge on the River Kwai was first published in 1952.

Its writer, French-born Pierre Boulle, had been a prisoner of the Japanese during WW2. He used his experiences as a background to the book.

Interestingly, the original English translation of the French title of the book was The Bridge over the River Kwai. This appears to have been changed after the appearance of the David Lean film.

A week of classic paperbacks: The Dam Busters #1

The Dam Busters
             The Dam Busters

Celebrating great books and their covers.

These are the classic paperbacks many of us grew up with.

I used to scour second hand book shops for them. I’d often end up with two or three versions of the same book.

Kicking off seven days of classic books – all with a WW2 flavour – here is The Dam Busters by Paul Brickhill. 

It was originally published in 1951 and was the first of dozens, if not hundreds, of books about the raid on the Ruhr dams.

Brickhill had been a fighter pilot, who had been shot down and imprisoned in Stalag Luft III. His first book, The Great Escape, was about events at that camp.

“A story I didn’t want to end”

Lovely new five star review for ‘Farewell Leicester Square’ on Amazon:

“Good Story, Well Written, Recommend, Well Edited…

“This book starts with an intrigue and in the present time but quickly moves back to WWII and a different perspective, that of the Channel Islands, the only part of the UK to be occupied by the Nazis during WWII.

“It quickly pulled me in and was full of pathos, well told and a story that flowed well with some twists and turns that took me off track but I pulled myself back quickly.

“It was a story I didn’t want to end and I enjoyed the book and would like a sequel!”

Farewell Leicester Square
Farewell Leicester Square

 

Five Stars: “A great tale of WW 2 daring, intrigue and heroism”

Farewell Leicester Square
Farewell Leicester Square

2005. Terrorists target London in an attack which makes headlines around the world.

Elsewhere, a fishing boat makes a remarkable find: a World War II bomber, hundreds of miles from where records show it disappeared.

The two events combine when journalist Jon Kilkade takes a blood-curdling phone-call.

It describes a suicide mission to destroy London. Not in 2005, but during the chaotic final months of the Nazi Third Reich.

The action in this fast-paced novel switches from occupied Jersey to the lives of SOE and Resistance fighters in Belgium.

At its heart is a deadly circle of Nazi fanatics intent on creating a final blitz which would see the people of London wiped from the face of the earth.

A riveting thriller in the tradition of Jack Higgins and Alistair MacLean.

SOME OF THE 5***** REVIEWS ON AMAZON:
“A thoroughly enjoyable read. Full of intrigue and some shocks along the way. Historical wartime descriptions are incredibly accurate and deftly pull you into the story. It’s almost as if you’re there. Looking forward to the next one by Mr Kilkade.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of intrigue and heroism
“A great tale of WW 2 daring, intrigue and heroism told in a gripping way. Well researched and I’m sure based on detailed gleaned from true stories of the people who risked their lives to help other. Recommend.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb thriller
“The book starts in the modern day but soon goes back to WWII and sets up an interesting character who escapes Jersey before the island is occupied by the Nazis. I didn’t know where the story was going and it really zipped along once the main mission started. Lots of action and intrigue. Loved it and well worth a read.”
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
“I loved this novel for so many reasons – believeable characters, excellent research and an exciting plotline. I was caught in the storytellers trap from beginning to end.
If you like history and true to life characters and a smashing plot, this is the book for you.”